Places to Visit in and around Kumbakonam / Best Travels in Kumbakonam
Kumbakonam Temples
Swamimalai Temple - Kumbakonam
The Swamimalai is one of the six (padal petra sthalangal) temples of Lord Karthikeya. It is fourth among the Padai Veedugal. The sacred story associated with this temple is that Lord Karthikeya expounds the meaning of pranavam (AUM) to His father, Lord Shiva, at this location. Hence, one can see the Lord Karthikeya depicted as Guru (teacher) and Lord Shiva listening as shishya (disciple)in the raja gopuram of the temple complex.
Kumbeswarar Temple - Kumbakonam
Adi Kumbeswarar temple is the major one among the Saivaite temples and located in the centre of Kumbakonam at Big Bazaar Street. This temple covers an area of 30181 sq.ft. With a length and breadth of 750 feet, and 252 feet respectively. This temple comprises fo three Praharas and three Gopurams in the eastern, northern and western directions. It is belived that Govinda Theeksithan, the Chieftain of Achutha Nayakar of Thanjavur, renovated this oldest temple during 16th century.
Nageswaran Temple - Kumbakonam
Nageswaran Temple otherwise known as "koothandavar Kovil", is locatd near the old bus stand area and Adithya Cholan of Chola dynasty constructed this temple during 12th century. This temple stands as a great marvel of chola's architecture, building technology and astronomy. The design and orientation are structured in such a way that it allows the sun rays inside the temple only during the month of Chithirai, therefore, it bears another name called "Soorya Kotatm" or "Keel Kottam". The Karuvarai of Nageswaran temple has similarity with that of Sarangapani temple, as it is made in the form of a chariot. The temple consists of two Gopurams in the easteren and western directions.
Somesvaran Temple - Kumbakonam
Someswara temple Somessar temple is situated in the southren portion of Sri Sarangapani Temple. This temple is facing the northren side with a small Gopuram at the eastern portion near the entrance. The architectural style and element of this temple resembles the Dravidian Architecture of 13th century of chola period. Arumugam and thenar Mozhi Ammal are the other deities located in this temple complex.
Sarangapani Temple - Kumbakonam
Sri Sarangapani temple is located near to Uchipilliar Kovil junction at Sarangapani East Street. This temple is considered one among the three major shrines of lord Vishnu and it was renovated during the period of Nayaka Kingdom fo 16th century. Sarangapani temple consists of the biggest Gopuram (150ft), and five Praharas and one holy tank, known as "Porthamarai Kulam", which is located behind the temple. The Karuvarai and Vimanam are made with 12 - sculptured columns shaped llike a chariot.
Chakkarapani Temple - Kumbakonam
Chakrapani koil is near the river Cauvery. Next to Sarangapani temple this is the biggest Vaishnavite temple. Chakrapani is the weapon (Discus) wielded by Vishnu. Chakra – (The Wheel) is a very sacres one to Hindus. The Vedas declare that the immeasurable universe is a wheel. The Pralaya (deluge) is the uprising in fury of the waters that assume the shape of a wheel, because of its churning. Its was called jalormi Chakram. Vishnu wields the Chakra to uphold righteousness. What other symbol can signify the Supreme being better than the wheel which has no beginning or end.
Ramaswamy Temple - Kumbakonam
Ramasamy Temple Achutha Nayaka of Thanjavur constructed the Ramasamy temple during 16th century. This temple is Located on the southeastern portion of "Porthamarai Kulam" and southern side of "Uchipillaiyar Kovil" junction. This temple consists of one Gopuram, One Maha Mandapam and Karuvarai.
Oppiliappan Temple - Kumbakonam
Oppiliappan, also known as Thiru Vinnagar is a very sacred place, where boons are granted to devotees. The legend of this sthala is found in Brahmanda purana in Sankrit. This place is about 12 kms from Paradise Resort. This pilgrim centre bears many names such us Akasa Nagaram, Vaikunta Nagaram, Thiru Vinnagar, Oppiliappan sannadhi, etc. One deity of this place is known as Thiru Vinnagarapan, Oppiliappan, Srinivasan, Venkatachalapathi etc. and the goddess is called Bhumi Devi, Bhumi Nachiar, Tharani Devi And VasundaraiIt is said that this deity gave darshan to Nammalwar in five forms Namalwar has sung praising these five forms. Further Poygai Alwar, Peyi Alwar and Thirumangai Alwar have enloguized this deity in psalms. This deity gave darshan to garuda, Kaveri, Dharma devatai, and Sage Markandeya. Three sacred rivers Dakshina Ganga, Dakshina Yamuna and Dakshina Godavari flowing in the south of the temple are now known by the names Nattru, Arisil and Kirtimanaru respectively. The river Arisil is the same that flows south of Kumbakonam. This Temple is the only one in the south to have the river Cauvery as a goddess in a sanctum.
Patteeswaram Temple - Kumbakonam
The Cholas reigned with capitals in more than one place. Tanjore, Gangaikonda Cholapuram were their capitals for some time. But in between, a place very near Kumbakonam called Pazhayarai was also their capital. Pattisvaram was a suburb of this Pazhaiyarai, and it was also known as Mazhapadi.
Intercity and Local Cab Services
All Rights Reserved.  
Delivered by Design Media